Acknowledgments

I would like to thank the following individuals who were invaluable in the review process:

Wolfgang Helmberg, M.D.

Jo McEntyre, Ph.D.

Mohammad Al-Ubaydli, M.D.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Helen Quill, Ph.D. - Chief

Lynda Chiodetti, Ph.D. - Program officer

Division of Allergy, Immunology, and Transplantation, Basic Immunology Branch, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease (NIAID), NIH

Connie Westhoff, SBB, Ph.D.

Scientific Director, American Red Cross, Philadelphia

Assistant Professor at the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Asok Chaudhuri, Ph.D.

Head, Laboratory of Cell Biology, Lindsley F. Kimball Research Institute of the New York Blood Center

Soohee Lee, Ph.D.

Associate Member Head, Laboratory of Membrane Biochemistry, Lindsley F. Kimball Research Institute of the New York Blood Center

Fumi-Ichiro Yamamoto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Cancer Genetics & Epigenetics, The Burnham Institute, California

Martin Olsson, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Division of Haematology and Transfusion Medicine, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Lund University, Sweden Deputy Director, Blood Centre, University Hospital, Lund, Sweden

Alan Chester, MSc, Ph.D., FRSC

Division of Haematology and Transfusion Medicine, Department of Laboratory Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Lund University, Sweden

Jill Storry, Ph.D., FIBMS

Divison of Hematology and Transfusion Medicine, Blood Centre, University Hospital, Lund, Sweden

Barbara Zupanska, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Immunohematology and Immunology of Transfusion Medicine, Institute of Hematology and Blood Transfusion, Warsaw, Poland